Did Jesus come to Judge?

Standard

Popular rapper Jay-Z released a song called “lucifer” right away with a name like that, I get a little on edge. What is this song going to be about? And preparing myself for the worst, as if I was about hear Jay-Z worship the devil I turned on the song and read the lyrics.

As it turns out the song is about one of his fiends being killed in an accident. One part of the song caught my attention though:

“I got dreams of holding a Nine milla
To Bobs killer
Asking him “why?” as my eyes fill up
These days I can’t wake up with a dry pillow
Gone but not forgotten Holmes I still feel ya
So… curse the day that birthed the bastard
Who caused your Church mass
Reverse the crash
Reverse the blast
And reverse the car
Reverse the day, and there you are
Bobalob
Lord forgive him we all have sinned
But Bobs a good dude please let him in
And if you feel in my heart that I long for revenge
Please blame it on the sun of the mourning
Thanks Again”
Jay-Z raps about taking revenge on his friends killer and there is a lot of emotion behind this as he says he cries every night. But then he says “Lord forgive him we all have sinned, but Bobs a good dude please let him in.” I just thought to myself how often is it that after someone days we pray for their salvation. But that person had their whole life to change, had their whole life to be in relationship with God. Now after they’re gone it’s too late.
If Jesus had come only to judge sinners and either grant them eternal paradise or eternal damnation then maybe that prayer would make sense.
But Jesus didn’t come to judge. The reason he came to earth wasn’t so he could have the authority to judge people. Can he do that? Yes. Will people get judged? Yes. But is that WHY Jesus came? No.
Jesus came so that the relationship between the trinity and humans could be restored. He came so that redemption was possible. He came so that we can experience the intimate love of God.
So although Jay-Z’s prayer in this song is the prayer of many others, he missed the point.
Jesus didn’t come to judge, he came to love and to restore.

 

Leave a Reply

